District/School Support

Designated Cities List

Published: 8/2/2022 3:54 AM

​HB 331 passed during the 2014 Regular Session of the Kentucky Legislature and amended various parts of the KRS relating to the classification of cities. The legislation changed city classification from a numbered system of six classes to a system with only two designations--first class and home rule cities. HB 331 requires the Kentucky Department of Education (KDE) to publish a list of the cities and their pre-HB 331 designation. HB 331 amended KRS 160.020, 160.200, 160.240, 160.460, 162.020, 162.440, and 165.210 to insert the publication requirement.

Designation City List

Matthew T. Ross
Office of Finance & Operations
300 Sower Blvd., 4th Floor
Frankfort, KY 40601
(502) 564-1976 Ext. 4321
Fax (502) 564-6771
  • Normal Font Size