Awards and Recognition Programs

Awards and Recognition Programs

Published: 4/25/2023 4:43 PM

​​​​The Kentucky Department of Education oversees several annual awards and recognition programs that honor exceptional teachers, students and schools in the state.

Educator recognitions include:

Student recognitions include:

  • U.S. Senate Youth Program - Two student delegates (junior or senior status) are selected to represent Kentucky during the U.S. Senate Youth Program's (USSYP) Washington Week. Delegates also receive a $10,000 college scholarship for undergraduate study from The Hearst Foundations.
  • U.S. Presidential Scholars - contact Kathie Anderson

School recognitions include:

  • National Blue Ribbon Schools - Kentucky public schools must be nominated by the commissioner of education to be considered for the recognition. Public schools do not need to request consideration to be included in the nomination process. Nominated schools are selected based on all student scores, subgroup student scores and graduation rates, measured by state assessments.


GlyptusAnn ​Jones
Office of the Commissioner
Division of Communications 
300 Sower Boulevard
(502) 564-2000 ext. 4616

​Kevin Dailey, a social studies teacher at Ballyshannon Middle School (Boone County), was surprised with a cash award and announcement that he was the latest Kentucky educator to receive the Milken Family Foundation National Educator Award. Photo courtesy of the Milken Family Foundation, Feb. 23, 2022.​​

  • Normal Font Size