Teachers and Other Professionals

Kentucky Framework for Teaching (KyFft) and Specialist Frameworks

Published: 8/2/2022 3:59 AM

The Kentucky Framework for Teaching (KyFfT) is a foundational document for Kentucky educators. The research-based components of instruction were adapted from Charlotte Danielson’s Framework for Teaching (2011), are aligned to the INTASC standards, and are grounded in a constructivist view of learning and teaching. 

The KyFfT divides the complex activity of teaching into multiple standards clustered into four domains of teaching responsibility:

1. Planning and Preparation

2. Classroom Environment

3. Instruction

4. Professional Responsibilities

The Framework provides the critical rubric for educator growth and evaluation, detailing the concrete descriptions of practice associated with the four domains.

The KyFfT complements the Kentucky Academic Standards (KAS), KDE’s Characteristics of Highly Effective Teaching and Learning (CHETL), and the Kentucky Teacher Standards.


Other Professional

The Kentucky Framework for Teaching: Specialist Frameworks for Other Professionals are designed for the unique professional responsibilities of these specialists. Each framework consists of research-based sets of components of practice that are consistent with the Kentucky Framework for Teaching. Like the KyFfT, instructional practices are divided into multiple standards clustered into four domains of responsibility: 

1. Planning and Preparation

2. The Environment

3. Delivery of Service

4. Professional Responsibilities

​Todd Davis
Office of Educator Licensure and Effectiveness
Division of Educator Preparation and Certification
300 Sower Blvd., 5th Floor
Frankfort, KY 40601
(502) 564-5846 ext: 4537
Fax (502) 564-4007
  • Normal Font Size