SUMMARY MINUTES ARE DRAFT UNTIL APPROVED AT THE April 21, 2022, MEETING



PRESCHOOL COORDINATOR ADVISORY GROUP (PCAG) SUMMARY

Meeting minutes January 27, 2022

PRESENT: Dr. Whitney Stevenson, Kristy Lewis, Monica Heavrin, Carla Malone, Carlena Sheeran, Jennifer Walrod, Whitney Fowler, Greta Stanfield, and Cymbre Crisologo New Member: Sarah Vanover

ABSENT: Miranda Reed.

SUMMARY

Agenda Item: Welcome/Roll Call

Presenter: Dr. Whitney Stevenson, PCAG Chair, Associate Director of Early Childhood, Fayette County Public Schools

Summary of Discussion:

Roll call was completed and it was determined to be a quorum. .

Agenda Item: Welcome

Presenter: Andrea Bartholomew, School Readiness Branch Manager, KDE Division of IDEA Implementation and Results, Office of Special Education and Early Learning

Summary of Discussion:

Bartholomew welcomed the group, thanked everyone for their participation and offered well wishes for our Western Kentucky counties that have been effected by the recent tornadoes.

Agenda Item: Review of Norms

Presenter: Dr. Whitney Stevenson, PCAG Co-Chair, Paducah Independent Public Schools/Paducah Head Start

Summary of Discussion:

The group norms were reviewed by Dr. Whitney Stevenson.

At this time a motion was made to **amend the agenda** to add Sarah Vanover to the Advisory Group. The motion was made by Whitney Fowler and seconded by Kristy Lewis. The motion carried.

Agenda Item: Review and Approval of Last Meeting Minutes

Presenter: Dr. Whitney Stevenson, PCAG Chair, Associate Director of Early Childhood Fayette County Public Schools

Summary of Discussion:

Stevenson reviewed and approved the last meeting minutes, upon the motion of Jennifer Walrod, seconded by Carla Malone.

Agenda Item: Discuss and vote on creating communities.

Presenter: Dr. Whitney Stevenson, PCAG Chair, Associate Director of Early Childhood Fayette County Public Schools

Summary of Discussion:

There was a discussion to create some committees to further the work of the PCAG. The ideas established were to have a Priority Setting Committee along with an Executive Committee. The plan is to take the ideas of the PCAG to each group. The Priority Setting Committee will share ideas with the Executive Committee, who will then take those ideas to build the future agendas. On a motion made by Monica Heavrin, seconded by Whitney Fowler, the committees were created.

Agenda Item: Nominations for committee members

Presenters: Dr. Whitney Stevenson, PCAG Chair, Associate Director of Early Childhood Fayette County Public Schools

Summary of Discussion: Nominations were held and voted on upon motion of Jennfier Walrod, seconded by Monica Heavrin. All members voted yes to the following committee members. Priority Setting Committee- Carlena Sheeran, Carla Malone, and Monica Heavrin. The Executive Committee will consist of Jennifer Walrod, Whitney Fowler and Dr. Whitney Stevenson.

Agenda Item: Discuss and vote on future meeting dates

Presenters: Dr. Whitney Stevenson, PCAG Chair, Associate Director of Early Childhood Fayette County Public Schools

Summary of Discussion: The group discussed the upcoming meeting date for April. Upon motion of Jennifer Walrod, seconded by Whitney Fowler, it was a unanimous vote to hold the meeting on Apr 21, 2022 from 10:00 am - 12:00pm EST.

Agenda Item: Closing Remarks and Exit Slip

Presenter: Andrea Bartholomew, School Readiness Branch Manager, KDE Division of IDEA Implementation and Results, Office of Special Education and Early Learning

Summary of Discussion:

Sarah Vanover shared details about the Preschool partnership grant. 45 districts applied in the fall. This grant allows districts to serve underserved populations (special needs population) Schools apply and have co-applicants, such as child care centeres, which must be a 3, 4, or 5 Star center. Larger programs can apply for two grants. Funds will be available before the semester. If you have any questions you can email Jessica Cain at jessica.cain@ky.gov The application is on the CHFS site. <u>https://chfs.ky.gov/agencies/os/oas/Pages/grants.aspx</u> Intent to apply must be completed by Feb 11, 2022 and the application is due Mar 11, 2022.

The group adjourned upon the motion of Kristy Lewis and was seconded by Monica Heavrin.

Next meeting date: April 21, 2022, from 10 a.m. - 12 p.m. ET.